It’s tea time

Curated by: Kayla Thompson, Adult Services, Cape Girardeau Public Library

Welcome to the Tea Party! At the beginning of June, the Cape Girardeau Public Library is hosting a family tea party to kick off our summer reading celebration! Are you a fan of books, Bridgerton, fancy clothes, or tiny sweets and teas? Then make sure to register! In the meantime here are some tea-related tomes to get into the spirit of things.

The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels by India Holton: For fans of Bridgerton and Downton Abbey, here is a story full of morally gray characters embarking on fantastical historical romance adventures. Cecelia is a proper Victorian lady and thief who must save her aunt from pirates while falling in love against her better judgment. Pride and Prejudice meets Pirates of the Caribbean.

 The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See: See is one of my favorite historical fiction authors. This book follows Li-Yan, an educated girl raised in a village of tradition and tea farming, who gives up her baby born out of wedlock instead of having her be killed. Mother and daughter lead vastly different lives apart until a yearning for what is missing leads them back to their roots.

 Can’t Spell Treason Without Tea by Rebecca Thorne: Reyna, the Queen’s guard, and Kianthe, a powerful mage, decide to risk it all for a chance to be together and achieve their dream of a bookstore-tea shop collaboration. One part cozy mystery, one part fantasy realm – all around a great read and a great time. Grab a tea and a cozy blanket, and curl up with this fun story.

 Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop by Roselle Lim: Vanessa is blessed (or cursed) with the ability to read people’s futures from tea leaves. So much so that she switches to drinking coffee, but the tea leaves still find a way and after a match-make gone wrong finds her seeing visions of her own death, Vanessa decides that something in her life has to change. Enter Aunt Evelyn and her Paris tea shop.

Comment

There is no comment on this post. Be the first one.

Leave a comment